Tuesday, December 30, 2008

52 CFP

Call for Proposals for April 3-4 MnCUEW Conference

First Annual MnCUEW Conference (Minnesota Colleges and Universities English
and Writing), April 3-4, 2009 - Sponsored by MnSCU and the University of
Minnesota

2009 THEME: "Across Borders: Assessment, Accountability, and Scholarship in
Literature, Composition, and Creative Writing"

LOCATION: The University of Minnesota Continuing Education and Conference
Center, St. Paul

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS: Fri., April 3, Paul Bodmer, National Council of Teachers
of English (NCTE) Senior Program Officer for Higher Education in Washington,
D.C. (retired), and former NCTE Associate Executive Director for Higher
Education in Urbana, Illinois; subject - changing expectations for higher
education in English in the 21st century. Sat., April 4, Dr. Lynda Milne,
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) System Director for
Faculty Development and Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning;
subject - new methods of assessing students' - and one's own - teaching and
learning.

DESCRIPTION OF CONFERENCE: The 2009 MnCUEW Conference provides a forum for
college and university English and writing instructors to discuss current
pedagogies in teaching and learning English, assessment and other
initiatives, research projects, and systems-wide accountability issues.
Faculty will be able to share different methods, pedagogies, and styles in
teaching literature, composition, and professional and creative writing and
discover ways in which English/writing faculty members are collaborating in,
crossing lines of, and extending English and writing instruction. We
encourage proposals from MnSCU, UMN, and private college faculty, graduate
students, and college-in-the-schools teachers in Minnesota and surrounding
states.

PROPOSALS: Please send your proposals and proposal ideas for single sessions
by one or more presenters (15 min.) and panels by three or more presenters
(1 hr. with time for discussion). We are looking for proposals from any
college teachers as above, full or part time, that address any aspect of
teaching literature, composition, and professional and creative writing.
Send your proposals to Carol Mohrbacher c/o writeplace@stcloudstate.edu with
a title and 50-150 w. describing your session by Feb. 28, 2009. We
encourage both interactive and traditional presentations and discussions.
(You do not need to write a formal paper to present.) Possible topics
include the following:

composition, literature, developmental writing, writing about literature,
writing centers, WAC/ WAD/WI, computers/electronic delivery and English,
English and NNS/ESL, creative writing, technical/professional writing,
transfer, bridging gap between h.s. and college, working conditions/
teaching loads/adjunct or TA/GA issues, placement/assessment/exit
procedures, diversity, research, et al.

This program is made possible through a Center for Teaching and Learning
grant with generous funding from the MnSCU (Minnesota State Colleges and
Universities) System Office of the Chancellor.

---
MnCUEW (Minnesota Colleges & Universities English & Writing) Committee:

Brian Baumgart, Century College, brian.baumgart@century.edu
Heather Camp, Minnesota State University-Mankato, heather.camp@mnsu.edu
Kirsti Cole, Minnesota State University-Mankato, kirsti.cole@mnsu.edu
Anthony Collins, Inver Hills Community College, acollin@inverhills.edu
Julie Daniels, Century Community and Technical College,
julie.daniels@century.edu
Pat Darling, Inver Hills Community College, pat_darling@hotmail.com
Danielle Hinrichs, Metropolitan State University,
danielle.hinrichs@metrostate.edu
Richard Jewell, Inver Hills Community College, richard@jewell.net
Darryl Johnson, Anoka Technical College, dajohnson@anokatech.edu
Matt Mauch, Normandale Community College, matthew.mauch@normandale.edu
Carol Mohrbacher, St. Cloud State University, camohrbacher@stcloudstate.edu
Brian Nerney, Metropolitan State University, brian.nerney@metrostate.edu
Dave Page, Inver Hills Community College, dpage1@inverhills.edu
David Pates, Normandale Community College, david.pates@normandale.edu

Kris Peleg, Century Community and Technical College,
kristine.peleg@century.edu
Tom Reynolds, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, reyno004@umn.edu
Donald Ross, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, rossj001@umn.edu
Larry Sklaney, Century Community and Technical College,
larry.sklaney@century.edu
Martin Springborg, MnSCU Center for Teaching and Learning,
martin.springborg@so.mnscu.edu
Matthew Vercant, Minnesota State University-Mankato,
matthew.vercant@mnsu.edu
Matt Williams, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, will1923@umn.edu

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Who knows where to download XRumer 5.0 Palladium?
Help, please. All recommend this program to effectively advertise on the Internet, this is the best program!